Qualifying Disabilities for Plates or a
Parking Permit for People with Severe
Disabilities:

A qualifying disability is one or more of the
following impairments, disabilities or conditions,
that affect mobility and are permanent in nature:

1. Use of portable oxygen

2. Legal blindness

3. Limited use, or no use, of one or both legs
4. Inability to walk 200 feet without stopping
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. A neuro-muscular dysfunction that severely
limits mobility

6. AClass Il or IV cardiac condition (American
Heart Association standards)

7. Severe limitation in the ability to walk due to
an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic
condition

8. Restriction because of lung disease to such an
extent that forced
(respiratory) expiratory
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A Temporary Parking
Permit may be issued
when a person has a
temporary disabling
condition, which affects
mobility so that the
person is unable to walk
without a cane,

. 0519265 7/'- crutches, a walker or

other assisting device.
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Important: Who Can Certify a Disability

You must obtain proof of the disability from a
licensed physician, an advanced practice
registered nurse (APRN), a member of the
handicap driver training unit or, in the case of
blindness, a licensed optometrist is acceptable.

If you have moved to Connecticut from another
state, you must apply for a Connecticut permit,
using a completed form B-225. Both Part Aand
Part B of the application must be completed.

Making a false statement or giving false
information on an application for a permit or plates
is punishable under Connecticut Statutes.

About Parking Permits

A permit is issued to a person with a qualifying
disability, and the permit may be used in any
vehicle in which that person is riding. For
example, a child with a qualifying disability may
receive a permit, to be used when riding as a
passenger in any vehicle.

Permits may also be issued to a facility or an
agency for vehicles they use primarily to transport
people with qualifying disabilities. Aform B-225
must be completed by the head of the facility or
agency, and the vehicle must be used at least
50% of the time for transporting eligible clients.

A temporary permit is valid for up to six months,
requires proof of disability just like a permanent
permit and allows the same access to reserved
parking spaces. If you have a temporary parking
permit that is due to expire, and you still have a
qualifying disability, you must obtain a new
medical certification before applying for another
temporary parking permit.

There is no fee charged for the issuance of a
permanent parking permit. There is a $5 fee
charged for each temporary permit issued. If you
lose your permit or it is stolen, immediately report
it to DMV.

The permit is designed to hang from the rearview
mirror when parked, but should be removed when
the vehicle is being operated.

About Plates

License plates for people with disabilities are
issued for passenger, commercial, combination
and motorcycle registrations.

You do not have to be a licensed operator to
obtain the plates, but you must be at least 18
years of age to register a vehicle.

License plates with the International Symbol of
Access are only issued to a vehicle registered in
the name of the person with the disability. If you
are unable to register the vehicle in the name of
the disabled person, refer to the section on
Parking Permits.

Obtaining Plates

You may apply for these plates at any DMV full
service office. You must provide proof of disability
(form B-225), along with any other documents
required for the registration of a vehicle.

If you already have a valid permanent parking
permit, no further medical documentation will be
required. You will, however, be required to
complete section A of the form B-225.

Renewing Plates

You do not have to provide proof of disability when
renewing plates.

Proper Use of Valid Permits or License
Plates

Any vehicle with a license plate or valid permit
displaying the International Symbol of Access
may use parking spaces designated for use by a
person with a disability. The person to whom the
license plate or permit was issued must be
traveling in the vehicle in order to use these
spaces.



Plates and permits do not allow you to disobey
state or local parking regulations. They also do
not exempt you from parking fees unless a

locality has adopted an ordinance to that effect.

Misuse of Parking Permits or Plates

With the parking permit and license plates goes
the responsibility for making sure they are used
properly. If you misuse plates or a parking permit
or allow another to misuse them, the DMV may
revoke the plates/permit or deny renewal.

The most common misuse is when someone
other than the person with a disability uses the
plates or permit to park in a space reserved for
people with disabilities. These parking permits or
plates are valid only when the person with a
disability who received the permit or plates is
driving the vehicle or is a passenger in it.

Parking Spaces

On-street parking spaces reserved for people with
disabilities are designated by local law or
ordinance. If you have a question about parking
for people with disabilities on a particular street,
contact the authorities responsible for maintaining
the road. Off-street parking spaces for people with
disabilities are required by law at any private
facility with 201 or more parking spaces.

License plates for people with disabilities are
available at all full service DMV offices.

Traveling Out of State

The federal goverment has adopted regulations
regarding a uniform system of handicapped
parking for persons with disabilities. As set forth
in the regulations, the International Symbol of
Access is displayed on every state’s special
license plates and parking permits. While
Connecticut plates and permits for people with
disabilities are available only to Connecticut
residents, Connecticut honors out-of-state plates
and permits for people with disabilities, just as

other states honor Connecticut’s plates and
permits for people with disabilities.

Remember:

* Apply for plates or a permit for people with
disabilities only if you have a qualifying
disability.

You may apply for:

-2 placards
or
- 2 sets of plates
or
- 2 set of plates and 1 placard.

» Use reserved spaces only if you have these
plates or this permit and only when the
person with a disability is driving or riding in
the vehicle.

* Don’t allow others to misuse your plates or
permit.

* Plates and permits do not exempt you from
parking regulations or fees.

* Never park in the access aisle or striped
areas next to a reserved parking space. It is
for access by people with wheelchairs and
specially—equipped vehicles, and is nota
parking zone.
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